My New Kitchen

DSCN0481DSCN0490 DSCN0502Granite Installation The cabinet doors have all been replaced.  On the right you can see the cabinets without any doors.  (the picture on the left shows the finished countertop. We have turned off the water and showed a worker where the circuit breaker for the stove is.

The glass cooktop sits on my cardboard story board on the rug in the living room. (It’s folded shut so as not to dislodge the Post-it notes for the novel I’m working on.] Empty drawers lean against chairs nearby.

I can hear sounds of hammering and breaking as they remove the backsplash from the walls. I just found out they will replace my window sill with granite too. That will look nice. Three men fight with the formica covered wood backsplash. Some of it does not want to come off. They even had to remove screws where the dishwasher was fastened to the counter.

One aluminum tile from the wall is bent and loose. I’ll have to figure out how to glue it back. Everything we need is piled on the table in the breakfast nook area, including the microwave. The TV and phone sit on a rolling cabinet with cords stretching over to above the counter. When the phone rings, I must walk through the kitchen to check the caller ID and decide if I want to answer. They did put a fabric sheet over the family room rug and the kitchen floor.

Now all the formica counter top has been removed and granite has been placed over where the sink goes. I told them I wanted to make a table from the rectangle they cut out for the sink. They nodded as if it were a good idea. I’m hoping they will cut it carefully.

I’m glad to see the granite I chose looks good with the cabinet doors and the floor. I only had a cell phone picture of the floor when I picked it out. Of the eight granite pieces I chose, only one was big enough to do the kitchen in one slab. Buying two slabs would have added almost a thousand to the discounted price. It looked more golden yellow at the warehouse, but it will go with my light tan cupboards and the floor well.

My floor has squares that look like they have spills and dirt on them, so extra dirt and spills won’t show. One day I caught myself trying to scrub off something that wasn’t actually a dirty spot, but part of the design.

The pictures I take will document the process. I try not to get any faces in the picture so I won’t have to have them sign releases. Ewww, now they are gluing the granite to the wood base of the cabinets, and it smells. They opened the window over the sink (or where it will be when they cut a hole for it) and the door to air out the place. One man said it will dry in 15 minutes. It’s been about 10, and the smell is reduced but not gone. Now one man is applying glue ?? to the inside of the cabinet, probably along the edges of the place where the granite is glued to the cabinet wall. Now it’s really noisy as they are cutting the sink hole and vacuuming the dust at the same time. There are three men altogether. One man showed me the window sill. It really looks nice. Another nice surprise they produced was a square cutting board.

Now, I hear hammering. I’m guessing they are removing the piece where the sink will go. I can smell sawdust too.The men are wearing masks over their noses. I turned on the ventilator fan over the stove area, then remembered the power was off. Guess, I’ll just have to breathe the air or leave my computer. One man just carried the sink hole piece out. I just got a facemask that my husband uses when he mows grass. He’s so allergic I mostly do it. Looking out the window, I see it’s that time already (April 24 in Texas).

Now, it’s Thursday, the day after the granite was laid, and a worker is here to hook up the sink and the stove. Again, I smelled glue, so I asked my husband to open the kitchen window. Of course, he had to make a comment about heating the great outdoors as it is only 50 degrees outside. Thank goodness, my husband knew how to turn the water back on for the rest of the house yesterday.

We prepared lunch and dinner, using the microwave. I cook quite a bit in that oven. Soon, we will be able to use the stove again. Then will come the task of organizing the kitchen. I will appreciate the use of the two pull out drawers under the cooktop. Now I have to decide which utensils I use the most and store them there.

Also, I need to cull out things I no longer use and donate them to my church’s Coat of Many Colors, a resale shop that raises money for charities the church supports, like Mission Central that donates food to nearby poor residents. Hopefully, I will be able to find everything from the kitchen that I stored for two weeks in other parts of the house.

About carolynrae1

Carolyn Rae (a/k/a Carolyn Rae Williamson) - Her passion is writing romantic suspense and delving into the minds of stalkers, bombers and terrorists that threaten the course of true love. She has several books published. Her latest is Just the Two of Us in the Barefoot Bay Kindle World. She has also written a Witness Protection Series, which includes Hiding from Love, Protected by Love, and Tempted by Love. She wrote the text of There IS Life After Lettuce (Eakin Press), a cookbook for heart patients and diabetics and has a master's degree in home economics. Whenever she tastes a delicious high calorie dish, she goes home to make a more healthy, but still tasty version. Her profile, travel, and cooking articles have appeared in the Fort Worth Star Telegram, The Dallas Morning News, Positive Parenting, AAA World, Hawaii and Alaska, and Romance Writer's Report.
This entry was posted in cooking, My new kitchen, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

