Gourmet Delights

I can still remember the Golden Apple and Peach Soup I ate on my Caribbean Cruise to Mexico. It was chilled, sweet and delicious. After tasting Beef Wellington and Baked Alaska, I knew I wanted to tour the galley and see where they made all those tasty dishes.DSCN0739_00340DSCN0739Beef Wellington

In the photo, you can see the popover crust surrounding the beef. Next to the asparagus is a spinach souffle cake, and the mashed potatoes have golden brown ridges.

Platters of baked Alaska were paraded around the dining room before they served slicesDSCN0747_00348DSCN0747 rich with neopolitan ice cream at our table.DSCN0750_00351DSCN0750

I make it a habit to try all sorts of new dishes on a cruise. I especially enjoyed the seafood appetizer, a little cake with crab, lobster and salmon.  Of course, after the galley tour, I had to buy the cookbook, Courses, A Culinary Journey, and get it signed by Executive  Chef  AntonioDSCN0743_00344DSCN0743 Cortese from Italy.

When I arrived back in Texas, I leafed through the cookbook, hoping to find many of the dishes I ate on the Caribbean Princess. I’m not afraid to try cooking gourmet dishes, but I discovered many ingredients listed were not commonly found in regular grocery stores. I guess I’ll have to visit Central Market in Colleyville soon. I’m looking forward to some interesting treats.

About carolynrae1

Carolyn Rae (a/k/a Carolyn Rae Williamson) - Her passion is writing romantic suspense and delving into the minds of stalkers, bombers and terrorists that threaten the course of true love. She has several books published. Her latest is Just the Two of Us in the Barefoot Bay Kindle World. She has also written a Witness Protection Series, which includes Hiding from Love, Protected by Love, and Tempted by Love. She wrote the text of There IS Life After Lettuce (Eakin Press), a cookbook for heart patients and diabetics and has a master's degree in home economics. Whenever she tastes a delicious high calorie dish, she goes home to make a more healthy, but still tasty version. Her profile, travel, and cooking articles have appeared in the Fort Worth Star Telegram, The Dallas Morning News, Positive Parenting, AAA World, Hawaii and Alaska, and Romance Writer's Report.
This entry was posted in Delicious dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

