Coins, gold, silver, and from all over the world

I’ve always been fascinated by coins. Saturday I went to a Coin Show.  Ten rows of tables displayed gold coins, silver coins, coins from other countries and samples of paper money in use before I was born. Gold coins gleamed, and so did the silver. The ones that were not so shiny had less value I was told. When I asked about cleaning dull coins, a dealer said that would devalue the coin.

Unlike today’s money, all the paper bills were green, and some were much larger than the ones we use today. I asked when those were used, and the man displaying them told me the U.S. government started printing smaller bills to save paper around 1928.

When I was a kid, my father showed me a ten-dollar gold piece. He explained that he couldn’t use it to buy anything because it was against the law to use after the United States went off the gold standard.

Now gold coins are collectors’ items or bought as investments. Some have fancy designs, such as the Australian Kookaburra bird. I discovered gold and silver coins from other countries. I searched for ones from Peru because I mentioned sols were used as money there in my novel, Romancing the Gold.

Luckily, I found a five sol piece for $.50 and bought it to display at my next booksigning, which will be after I speak on writing in viewpoint at the NOLA STAR’s Writer’s Conference on March 6 -7.

 

 

About carolynrae1

Carolyn Rae (a/k/a Carolyn Rae Williamson) - Her passion is writing romantic suspense and delving into the minds of stalkers, bombers and terrorists that threaten the course of true love. She has several books published. Her latest is Just the Two of Us in the Barefoot Bay Kindle World. She has also written a Witness Protection Series, which includes Hiding from Love, Protected by Love, and Tempted by Love. She wrote the text of There IS Life After Lettuce (Eakin Press), a cookbook for heart patients and diabetics and has a master's degree in home economics. Whenever she tastes a delicious high calorie dish, she goes home to make a more healthy, but still tasty version. Her profile, travel, and cooking articles have appeared in the Fort Worth Star Telegram, The Dallas Morning News, Positive Parenting, AAA World, Hawaii and Alaska, and Romance Writer's Report.
This entry was posted in Delicious dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

