Goodbye, Sweet Car

My Toyoto Corolla was sick and sluggish at times. I’d be tooling along without any problems until I stopped at an intersection with a Stop sign. Then it was like pushing an elephant to get it to move. Cars behind zipped around me while I jammed my foot on the accelerator. Nothing changed. Then all of a sudden, the engine decided to jerk ahead, and then I was fine–until the next time.

Goodbye Toyota

Goodbye Toyota

I was hoping to make it to Sunday School on time when the car just crawled for a whole block. When it finally decided to move faster, I turned around, headed home, and drove my husband’s car to church.

In the meantime, my husband woke up and wanted to go to the donut shop to meet with his cronies that gathered there in the mornings.  He took one look at my car sitting there and decided something must be wrong.

Monday morning, I drove my Toyoto to Jack’s Auto Shop to get it fixed.  Jack, bless his heart, said the transmission was about to go out, and the catalytic converter needed to be replaced before I could pass inspection. He asked if I wanted to spend $3,000 to fix a 14-year-0ld car with 175,00 miles on it.  Not ready to do that, I drove home and had a conference with my husband.

He checked out prices and informed me I could only sell it for $1,500 if I fixed it up. Since we’re both retired, we had planned on downsizing to one car when mine wore out, but I didn’t feel ready to let go.

We could donate it to Cars for Kids, an organization which helped pay to educate teens. I drove by Jack’s and took my last picture.

Then I had an idea. Maybe Carmax would buy it. Sure enough, a phone call confirmed they would probably take a car that old and that sick.

Now, I am counting my blessings. First, I received a $300 check from Carmax. Second, my sweet husband agreed to let me use our other car for all my writer’s meetings as long as he gets to join his cronies for coffee at the donut shop in the mornings. Third, we don’t have to pay for car inspection and registration, and fourth, we can get a refund on our car insurance.

The only catch is we have to remember to pass the extra key back and forth in case one of us forgets and leaves the key in the ignition. I can live with that.

 

 

About carolynrae1

Carolyn Rae (a/k/a Carolyn Rae Williamson) - Her passion is writing romantic suspense and delving into the minds of stalkers, bombers and terrorists that threaten the course of true love. She has several books published. Her latest is Just the Two of Us in the Barefoot Bay Kindle World. She has also written a Witness Protection Series, which includes Hiding from Love, Protected by Love, and Tempted by Love. She wrote the text of There IS Life After Lettuce (Eakin Press), a cookbook for heart patients and diabetics and has a master's degree in home economics. Whenever she tastes a delicious high calorie dish, she goes home to make a more healthy, but still tasty version. Her profile, travel, and cooking articles have appeared in the Fort Worth Star Telegram, The Dallas Morning News, Positive Parenting, AAA World, Hawaii and Alaska, and Romance Writer's Report.
This entry was posted in Delicious dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

