New Year’s Resolutions Made Easy

Low-carb Diet, here I come.

It’s January, and like many others, I’m trying to recover from pounds I gained from eating Christmas’s bountiful goodies.

My husband will only try the low-carb diet, so I’m looking forward to lots of sugar-free Jell-O with a dab of Cool Whip or fresh fruit. Oranges, strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries are low-carb. Since my husband has a sweet tooth, I mix one tablespoon of sugar and two packages of Sweet ‘n Low with the berries. For a tasty apple treat, I cut out the seeds, slice an apple onto a plate, sprinkle a mixture of sugar and cinnamon, microwave for two to three minutes, and eat with a toothpick.

Since I hate summer squash and zucchini, and he hates winter squash, and broccoli, we’ve settled on a compromise.  I cook broccoli for me and squash for him. I love spaghetti squash with butter and brown sugar, but that much sugar is a no-no, so I won’t do that.

I found a great recipe for green beans with bacon and cream cheese. I was going to make it tonight when my grandson and his girlfriend come for dinner, but her boss scheduled her to work tonight, putting him on my grandson’s hate list, so I guess it will be next Tuesday before they come.

I’ve been hunting recipes for the non-starchy, allowed vegetables. I don’t care for kale or Swiss chard, but I love spinach. A recipe I developed is listed below. You can also use it to stuff mushrooms.

Creamed Spinach with Mushrooms

2 T dried, minced onion, soak in ¼ cup warm water (or ½ cup chopped fresh onion)

6 large mushrooms. sliced

2 pkgs. frozen spinach (12 oz.), microwave each 5 minutes

¼ cup butter or margarine, cut in cubes and melt in frying pan

1 can cream of mushroom soup, undiluted

1T. flour

¼ tsp. garlic powder

Directions

Soak the onions in a small bowl for ten minutes. Cook spinach in microwave, one package at a time. Let cool. Cook the mushrooms in the melted butter in a large frying pan until slightly browned on each side. Put mushrooms on a plate and add flour, soup, and garlic powder to the butter. Bring to a boil over medium heat while stirring. Cook and stir for one minute until it’s thickened. Squeeze extra water from spinach packages and add spinach and mushrooms to pan and stir. This makes six generous servings, and it will keep and reheat well. If you put the leftovers in the pan in the refrigerator, add a little water and stir before reheating so spinach won’t stick to pan. Or, you can reheat it in the microwave oven.

 

 

 

About carolynrae1

Carolyn Rae (a/k/a Carolyn Rae Williamson) - Her passion is writing romantic suspense and delving into the minds of stalkers, bombers and terrorists that threaten the course of true love. She has several books published. Her latest is Just the Two of Us in the Barefoot Bay Kindle World. She has also written a Witness Protection Series, which includes Hiding from Love, Protected by Love, and Tempted by Love. She wrote the text of There IS Life After Lettuce (Eakin Press), a cookbook for heart patients and diabetics and has a master's degree in home economics. Whenever she tastes a delicious high calorie dish, she goes home to make a more healthy, but still tasty version. Her profile, travel, and cooking articles have appeared in the Fort Worth Star Telegram, The Dallas Morning News, Positive Parenting, AAA World, Hawaii and Alaska, and Romance Writer's Report.
This entry was posted in Delicious dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

